VisiFlora Review: How It Measures Up to the AREDS2 Formula
Short answer: it contains most of the AREDS2 core nutrients, but not at the tested zinc dose, and it still uses beta-carotene. Of the five vision supplements we compared, it came closest.
Quick verdict
- Contains most of the real AREDS2 core — vitamin C, E, copper, lutein and zeaxanthin
- Zinc is underdosed at 11 mg vs. the 80 mg tested in the actual AREDS2 trial
- Still uses beta-carotene, the ingredient AREDS2 specifically removed over lung cancer risk in smokers
- Only the zinc dose is published on the product page; the other doses aren’t disclosed
A good fit if…
You want lutein, zeaxanthin and the other AREDS2 core nutrients in one daily formula, you’ve never smoked, and you haven’t been told to take an exact AREDS2 dose.
Skip it if…
You smoke or used to (beta-carotene), or you have diagnosed intermediate AMD and your eye doctor wants the exact tested doses, including 80 mg of zinc.
Your risk: the official page offers a 60-day money-back guarantee.
Reader-supported: if you buy through our link, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes a rating: 3 of the 5 vision supplements we compared got no recommendation at all.
Check today’s price & the 60-day guarantee →What’s actually in it
VisiFlora markets itself around a “gut-eye connection,” claiming that neutralizing gut-related toxins is central to protecting vision. That specific mechanism isn’t part of the AREDS2 research or mainstream ophthalmology — it’s not what the trial behind the strongest vision-supplement evidence actually tested.
Underneath that framing, though, the ingredient panel does include most of the real AREDS2 core:
| Ingredient | VisiFlora Dose | AREDS2 Tested Dose | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vitamin C | Included, dose not disclosed | 500 mg | Core Ingredient |
| Vitamin E | Included, dose not disclosed | 400 IU | Core Ingredient |
| Zinc | 11 mg | 80 mg | Underdosed |
| Copper | Included, dose not disclosed | 2 mg | Core Ingredient |
| Lutein & Zeaxanthin | Included, dose not disclosed | 10 mg / 2 mg | Core Ingredient |
| Beta-Carotene | Included (listed as “Vitamin A (Beta Carotene)”, dose not disclosed) | Removed in AREDS2 | Outdated / Risk |
VisiFlora also includes 16 additional ingredients (astaxanthin, ginkgo biloba, bilberry, saffron extract, and others) not part of the AREDS2 formula. Some have preliminary research for general eye fatigue; none have AREDS2-level evidence for macular degeneration specifically.
The actual AREDS2 formula tested 80 mg of zinc — nearly 8 times VisiFlora’s 11 mg dose — and specifically replaced beta-carotene with lutein and zeaxanthin.
Age-Related Eye Disease Study 2 Research Group. JAMA, 2013. See our full AREDS2 evidence review.
Two specific concerns worth knowing
11 mg vs. 80 mg tested
Even if zinc is one of the “right” ingredients, this dose is far below what was clinically tested to slow AMD progression.
Still uses beta-carotene
This is the ingredient AREDS2 specifically removed, after research linked it to higher lung cancer risk in smokers and former smokers.
What this means practically
This isn’t the “gut-eye breakthrough” its marketing suggests. But underneath that story, VisiFlora does contain most of the real AREDS2 core: vitamin C, vitamin E, copper, lutein, and zeaxanthin. The honest gaps are a zinc dose far below what was tested, and an outdated ingredient (beta-carotene) that current research recommends avoiding, especially for smokers and former smokers.
Weighing it against VISIVRA? Our VisiFlora vs VISIVRA comparison covers which one fits whom.
If you have diagnosed intermediate AMD and are considering this as an alternative to a doctor-recommended AREDS2 formula, that dosing gap is worth discussing with your eye doctor first.
Price, guarantee & where it’s sold
The official page offers a 60-day money-back guarantee. Keep expectations realistic, though: AREDS2 measured slower disease progression over about five years, not changes you’d notice within weeks.
Prices listed on the official site as of September 2026:
- 2 bottles: $79/bottle ($158 total, plus a small shipping fee)
- 3 bottles: $59/bottle ($177 total)
- 6 bottles: $49/bottle ($294 total), free US shipping
How the refund works
The official page says that if you’re not satisfied within 60 days, you return the bottles and your purchase is refunded. Contact the seller through the “Contact” and “Return Policy” links on the official page, and keep your order details.
Is there a coupon code?
We didn’t find any coupon codes on the official page. The discount comes from the bundle size: $79 a bottle for 2, down to $49 a bottle for 6.
Where it’s sold
The official page says you won’t find VisiFlora in stores or on third-party sites. Orders are processed by the BuyGoods retail platform, and the charge appears on your statement as “BuyGoods.” Confirm current pricing and terms on the official site before ordering.
VisiFlora reviews and complaints: what we could verify
Search for “VisiFlora reviews and complaints” and most of the top results aren’t independent. When we checked in September 2026, they were mainly forum threads and free-hosted pages that repeat the sales page’s wording, promise “honest” or “verified” buyer feedback, and link straight to the order page.
We did not find a set of verified-buyer complaints that we could check and cite, so we don’t quote customer reviews or star averages here. Our 3.4/5 rating comes from the ingredients and the evidence behind them, not from testimonials.
Worth knowing: since October 2024, a Federal Trade Commission rule has banned fake consumer reviews and testimonials, including undisclosed reviews by company insiders. The rule makes fake reviews illegal; it doesn’t make every review online real.
What you can actually check before buying
- The refund window: 60 days, per the official page. See how the refund works.
- Side effects: zinc can cause nausea or stomach upset, especially without food, and the formula still contains beta-carotene, which smokers and former smokers should avoid.
- Timing: the AREDS2 trial measured slower disease progression over about five years. It did not test quick changes in how well you see.
- What it can’t do: it isn’t matched to the tested AREDS2 doses, so it shouldn’t replace a formula your eye doctor recommended.
Frequently asked questions
What do VisiFlora reviews and complaints say?
Does VisiFlora contain the AREDS2 formula?
Is the “gut-eye connection” claim real?
Is beta-carotene safe in this formula?
Can this replace a doctor-prescribed AREDS2 supplement?
Is it safe to take with other medications?
Are there side effects?
What’s the refund policy?
Where can you buy VisiFlora?
The bottom line
VisiFlora has better ingredient alignment with real AMD research than most vision supplements we’ve seen — it just doesn’t match the tested doses, and it keeps an ingredient the science has since moved away from. If you go in knowing that, rather than the “gut-eye” framing, it’s a reasonable supplement to weigh against your options.
This article is for informational purposes and isn’t a substitute for medical advice. Talk to an eye care provider before starting any supplement, especially if you have diagnosed AMD or take other medications.
Sources
- Age-Related Eye Disease Study 2 Research Group. “Lutein + zeaxanthin and omega-3 fatty acids for age-related macular degeneration.” JAMA, 2013.
- See full ingredient-level detail in our AREDS2 evidence review.
- Federal Trade Commission. “Federal Trade Commission Announces Final Rule Banning Fake Reviews and Testimonials.” August 2024.