White tablets spilling from an open supplement bottle on a green surface
Label Check

Retina Clear and Vision Enhance Pro vs AREDS2: What the Labels Show

SV Smart Value Guide Editorial Team ·6 min read ·Published September 2026

Short answer: neither is an AREDS2 formula. Vision Enhance Pro’s label lists some of the AREDS2 nutrients at lower doses and doesn’t say how much lutein or zeaxanthin it contains. The Retina Clear sites we checked list ingredients but no doses at all, so it can’t be compared with the tested formula.

Quick verdict

Vision Enhance Pro

Partial overlap: zinc, copper, vitamins C and E are listed, most below AREDS2 doses. Lutein and zeaxanthin amounts aren’t disclosed.

Retina Clear

Can’t be compared: several sites sell it, with different ingredient lists and no doses.

If your eye doctor recommended AREDS2, choose a product that lists all six AREDS2 doses. See VisionMD vs PreserVision for one that does.

We have no affiliate relationship with any product on this page, and we earn nothing from these links.

✓ Every study and label we cite is listed under Sources at the end of this page
The Benchmark

The AREDS2 formula, for reference

The AREDS2 formula is the one tested by the National Eye Institute in 4,203 people at risk of advanced macular degeneration. Per day:

NutrientAREDS2 daily dose
Vitamin C500 mg
Vitamin E400 IU (180 mg, synthetic form)
Zinc80 mg (a 25 mg version was also tested and did about as well)
Copper2 mg
Lutein10 mg
Zeaxanthin2 mg
Beta-caroteneNone (removed over lung cancer risk in former smokers)

The trial showed benefit for people who already have intermediate AMD, or late AMD in one eye. It didn’t test the formula as prevention for healthy eyes. More on this in AREDS2 and macular degeneration.

Label vs. Label

Vision Enhance Pro vs AREDS2

At least two websites sell a product called Vision Enhance Pro. The label with the most detail is on BioPeak Lab’s store: two capsules a day, 60 capsules per bottle, and a 90-day money-back guarantee. Here’s how it compares:

Per dayAREDS2Vision Enhance Pro (BioPeak Lab label)
Vitamin C500 mg200 mg
Vitamin E180 mg20 mg
Zinc80 mg32 mg
Copper2 mg2 mg
Lutein10 mgListed, amount not disclosed
Zeaxanthin2 mgListed, amount not disclosed
Beta-caroteneNoneVitamin A 100 mcg RAE as beta-carotene (a small amount)
OtherNoneLycopene, alpha-lipoic acid, bilberry, quercetin, taurine, grape seed, rutin, eyebright, B vitamins and several minerals

The zinc gap is less of a concern than it looks: AREDS2 found no apparent difference when the zinc dose was lowered to 25 mg. The bigger problems are vitamin E at about a tenth of the tested dose, and lutein and zeaxanthin with no stated amount, since those are the carotenoids AREDS2 settled on.

A second site, visionenhancepro.us, sells a product with the same name, doesn’t name the company behind it, lists only zinc (32 mg) and copper (2 mg) doses, and offers a 60-day guarantee. We can’t confirm whether it’s the same formula. Partial Match

Label vs. Label

Retina Clear vs AREDS2

“Retina Clear” is sold from several different websites, and their ingredient lists don’t match. Two examples we checked in September 2026:

  • retina–clear.us (“Retina Clear Official Store”): bilberry, lutein, zeaxanthin, astaxanthin, vitamin A, vitamin C, zinc and ginkgo biloba. No doses, no listed price, 60-day guarantee with shipping not refunded.
  • Nature’s Formulas (yournatureformula.com): lutein, zeaxanthin, quercetin, bilberry, vitamin A as beta-carotene, vitamin C, zinc, copper, biotin, taurine, lycopene, rutin, magnesium, eyebright and alpha-lipoic acid. No doses; $69 per bottle on sale; 60-day guarantee.

Neither list includes vitamin E, and without doses there’s no way to tell how close either version comes to AREDS2. If you’re considering Retina Clear, ask the seller for the full Supplement Facts panel with amounts before ordering, and check which company you’re buying from. Can’t Verify

Checklist

How to check any eye vitamin label

  1. Find the six AREDS2 nutrients and their amounts: vitamin C, vitamin E, zinc, copper, lutein, zeaxanthin.
  2. Check the serving size. Many formulas split the daily dose across two capsules.
  3. Look for beta-carotene, sometimes listed only as “vitamin A.” Smokers and former smokers should avoid it.
  4. Treat “proprietary blend” or missing doses as unknown, not as a match.
  5. Check who sells it. A company name, address and clear refund terms are a minimum.

Comparing other eye supplements? Two products we’ve reviewed in depth are compared side by side in VisiFlora vs VISIVRA (ratings, price and guarantee), and three more are covered in 5 Vision Supplements Compared. Neither VisiFlora nor VISIVRA matches the AREDS2 doses, and the pages say so.

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Is Vision Enhance Pro an AREDS2 formula?
No. The BioPeak Lab label lists zinc (32 mg), copper (2 mg), vitamin C (200 mg) and vitamin E (20 mg), mostly below AREDS2 doses, and doesn’t disclose how much lutein or zeaxanthin it contains.
Is Retina Clear an AREDS2 formula?
Not that we could verify. The Retina Clear sites we checked list ingredients without doses, their lists differ from site to site, and none includes vitamin E.
Is 32 mg of zinc enough compared with AREDS2?
AREDS2 found no apparent difference in progression when zinc was lowered from 80 mg to 25 mg, so 32 mg isn’t the main gap. The larger gaps are vitamin E and the undisclosed lutein and zeaxanthin amounts.
Which is better, Retina Clear or Vision Enhance Pro?
Vision Enhance Pro’s BioPeak Lab label discloses more doses, so it’s easier to judge. Neither matches AREDS2, and neither has trial evidence of its own that we could find.
Who sells Retina Clear?
Several websites sell products called Retina Clear, including retina–clear.us and Nature’s Formulas, with different ingredient lists. Check the company name and full label before ordering.
What should I take instead if I have macular degeneration?
Ask your eye doctor. For intermediate AMD, or late AMD in one eye, the National Eye Institute says supplements matching the AREDS2 formula may slow AMD down.

The bottom line

Neither Retina Clear nor Vision Enhance Pro is an AREDS2 formula. Vision Enhance Pro discloses part of its label and falls short on vitamin E and on lutein and zeaxanthin transparency; Retina Clear discloses no doses and varies by seller. If you have macular degeneration, a product that lists all six AREDS2 doses is the evidence-based choice.

This article is for informational purposes and isn’t a substitute for medical advice. Talk to an eye care provider before starting or changing an eye supplement, especially if you have macular degeneration, smoke or used to smoke, or take other supplements with zinc.

Sources

Photo: Jorge Campos / Unsplash